TokyoHobby Review

TokyoHobby
Review
written
by
[ORCA]442
(
ottermusashi@hotmail.com
)-
Wednesday, September 30, 2002

NOTE: Please read the entirety of this article. The presence of this article should in no way be considered an endorsement of the retailer concerned.


 
I
have purchased many airsoft guns and accessories
from Hong Kong and locally here in California.
I have been very fortunate to have met an dealt
with some great people and purchased some great
airsoft products and services. I have purchased
Airsoft products from Hong Kong retailers; Dentrinity,
Wargameclub and Redwolf Airsoft. Locally (Southern
California), I have purchased/serviced from Airsoft
Extreme and The Qproject. All of these aforementioned
airsoft retailers get an A+ from me in how they
communicate, ship and the quality of products
and services received.

So it pains me to write a negative review of
Tokyo Hobby (www.tokyohobby.net).
Being in the U.S., I was very excited to find
a retailer selling direct from Japan. When I checked
their website and signed up for their newsletter
they sent an email out on 08/06/2002 announcing
a review and presale of Tokyo Marui MK23 Fixed
Slide for $99.00. Having the “I gotta be
the first on the block to own something new”
disease, I contacted Miki Nakamura, Customer Service
& Sales, of Tokyo Hobby to purchase 3 items:

1 Tokyo Marui MK23 Fixed Slide
1 Mosquito Molds Mini Launcher
1 Mosquito Molds Loading tool
Total + Shipping to the U.S. $282.00 (Great pricing
so far)

On a positive note. Tokyo Hobby has an above average
website (although a bit too much Flash animation
and not enough shopping cart functionality). This
impressed me that it wasn’t some “fly by
night” website in that time and money have
been invested in the website. When I inquired
about the MK23 and other products I was interested
in, I received some prompt email replies from
Miki that eluded to these products being in stock
and shipping soon.

 
First
Warning Sign…
Tokyo Hobby does
NOT accept Paypal. I guess I got spoiled with the
other airsoft retailers I have mentioned. But I
asked for Tokyo Hobby’s bank information to wire
transfer them the money. On 08/12/2002 I
wire transferred the $282.00 to Tokyo Hobby (I was
going to post the receipt from the Wire Transfer,
but that would show Tokyo Hobby’s bank info…..
Maybe later). I was then hit up with the banks wire
transfer fees of an extra $30.00 (Now the great
pricing I thought I was getting is now the same
as if I were to buy these products from Hong Kong)
I think to myself, “At least I’ll get the MK23
soon”….
 
Second
Warning Sign…
I then emailed Tokyo Hobby
that the money was wire transferred and inquired
on a ship date.. My emails went unanswered on 08/14/2002,
08/16/2002, 08/21/2002. On 08/23/2002 I receive
a reply that states, “We have received the
funds and the order will ship out on early next
week. Thank you for your support!” Great! I
think to myself…

It is now 09/28/2002 and I have NOT received
my order or replies to my emails inquiring about
the order status. The 1 reply stating that my order
will ship early in the week of 08/26/2002 is the
ONLY reply I have received from Tokyo Hobby.
I sent an email to ask them to refund my money or
substitute my order for a part they have in stock
just to get something for my $282.00. But still
no reply… No order or substitute order or refund.

I’m not sure why, but all that Tokyo Hobby needs
to do is update a paying customer on the status
of an order placed. Even if they do not have the
product in stock, they could at least inform a paying
customer who sent them money already. I would understand
any explanation, but at this point I feel ripped
off. I guess I could fault myself for believing
that they could get the MK23 Fixed Slide in the
time frame they stated. Marui and First Factory’s
website’s aren’t saying it will ship anytime soon.

But
I’m trying to stay optimistic in the fact that
I don’t think Tokyo Hobby should have promised
the MK23 to ship when they did, and hope they
will eventually ship the order… TRYING to stay
optimistic…. Hope to amend this review with
some good news.

As
of 10/12/2002 I have not recieved any response
from Tokyo Hobby or Miki Nakamura. But I have
recieved many replies from around the world to
this review and sorry to say they have all been
negative and people have had the exact same problem
with this company. TH and Miki Nakamura seemd
to have a habit of only shipping partial orders.
I will post any news as I get it.

At
the request of the retailer concerned the
following is a series of updates that ORCA
placed in our forums. I have added them
to this review to provide a fairer and clearer
history of the order and the final (happyier)
outcome. Please do remember that the views
expressed here are, as always, that of the
author- Arnie

Update
October 17th 2002

I received my 2nd (My 1st email, dated 08/23/2002
reply stated the product would ship out in a few
days) email reply from Tokyo Hobby, Miki Nakamura
stating the MK23 was not in stock and if I would
like to have everything else delivered now and
keep the MK23 on backorder. Keep in mind TH has
had my money now since 08/12/2002.

I replied
back I would like the MK23 substituted for 2 other
parts (2 CAW grenades) which will bring the total
of the order to less then what I already sent
them, or refund my money, but I’m sick of TH having
my money for over 2 months. Of course I should
have expected no replies, it has been 5 days since
they sent the last reply.

So
bottom line, I still don’t have my order. TH has
had my money for over 2 months and nothing seems
to be changing.

I hope
you all that have replied to my initial review
are received your products that you have already
ordered.

On
10/22/2002
I received a 3rd reply from Miki
Nakamura regarding my over 2 month old order.
Basically stating that they will change my order
to other parts I requested because they cannot
get the MK23 when they first promised.

Here’s
some interesting points of the 3rd e-mail. No
apology or any hint of one in the entire e-mail
on why they’ve had my money for over 2 months,
when promising me my order would ship back on
the week of 08/23/2002. He did promise to change
my order for the substitute parts and my order
will ship soon… When I have no idea because
again… No replies to emails on status of the
order.

Here’s
the REAL sad part. All the parts I am now ordering
from Tokyo Hobby/Miki Nakamura, I could have ordered
from Wargameclub or someone else for about the
same price (Keep in mind you’ll pay a wire transfer
fee, because TH/Miki cannot accept Paypal) and
had the parts within 3 days. the parts I’m ordering
have been released and readily available.

So,
to sum things up:

1)
Received a 3rd reply from Tokyo Hobby/Miki Nakamura,
stating my order will be changed (does not promise
ship dates). Pretty condescending e-mail too,
but he cannot answer why he’s had my money for
so long or allude to an apology.

2)
Could’ve ordered these parts from WGC or Dentrinity
in Hong Kong for about the same price and received
the parts within 3 days.

3)
Of course as usual no replies to the 10/22/2002
e-mail regarding order status or to answer why
this order was promised and never shipped in the
first place.

So
now I am working with the Japanese Embassy here
in L.A. to formally go after TH/Miki Nakamura.

Will
keep you posted!

Update
08/11/02
My last posting on dealing with Tokyo
Hobby and Miki Nakamura. As stated in the previous
thread I invite TH/Miki Nakamura to answer to
my dealings with them.

Well
good news (sort of). I received half of my order
on 11/05/2002. Included was a CAW Mini Launcher
and CAW 50 rnd 6mm Grenade. The mini launcher
came w/o the Moscart BB Shower though which I
assumed was included for the price I paid, $135.00.
My bad, for assuming. I could have bought this
from Den Trinity for $100.00 and the Mini Launcher/Moscart
BB Shower for $165.00. Oh well…

So
where’s the balance of my order. The last email
I received from TH/Miki, was it would ship early
this week. Guess what… No replies to my emails…
So they seem to be repeating the same pattern
again and I’m not going to play these games any
more.

I personally
am so sick of these games that this will be my
last update to the initial review.

So
bottom line:

Paid
$282.00 for 1 CAW Mini Launcher and 1 CAW 50rnd
Grenade (Which is WAY too expensive). Even if
the balance of my order was shipped I still lost
money then if I were to buy from a Hong Kong retailer.
(TH made about $72.00 due to not shipping me the
balance of my order)

This
has been the worst experience I’ve had dealing
with an airsoft retailer but hopefully my last
bad experience. I will be much more careful now.
Thank goodness there are many reputable retailers
out there. Just hope no one else has to ever go
through this experience.

To
all who have replied to me being in the same situation
as I was I wish you the best of luck in getting
your orders or refunds.

And
lastly to Arnie, thank you for posting my review.
I feel this website helped greatly in at least
getting a partial shipment of my order. Each reply
back to me from TH/Miki coincided with my pointing
out an update to this review. This website is
a great resource for airsoft and I will be checking
back here to find out news of new goodies as always.

Update
14/11/02
Last Update… (Sorry, but interesting
info)

I finally
received the balance of my order today, minus
1 $12.00 part.

I had
asked for TH to ship me parts they had in stock
and cancel the New TM MK23 I initially ordered.
During this time TH/Miki said he was able to get
the TM MK23 and asked if I would like it added
back to the order on top of the substituted parts.
Being very cautious at this point of sending TH/Miki
and more money I stated no if this would delay
the balance of substitute parts order please do
not send, but if he did send the MK23 I would
be happy to pay for it. Guess what!!! TH/Miki
sent the balance of my order the MK23 – a CAW
Loading Tool $12.00

TH/Miki
actually shipped this part before I sent them
money!!! I am very impressed with this service.

Bottom
line is I received all parts I ordered from TH
except 1 $12.00 part. Although their service has
been very lacking in the past, I was impressed
with TH/Miki crosshipping me the last package.

I
wish it didn’t have to come down to this to receive
my order. It could’ve simply took some timely
replies to emails in giving me status on my order
and TH delivering product when promised.

Website

5/10
Looks good, but too much flash

Service

2/10
Well it got there in the end

Customer
Service

2/10
Replies to emails just weren’t fast enough
after the order was placed

Kit
Available

6/10
They do get a lot of gear before everyone
else.

Overall

3/10

External
Links:
www.tokyohobby.net

 

Last
modified:
Sunday, April 3, 2005 0:56 AM
Copyright 2003ArniesAirsoft

Looking for somewhere?
Podcasts
airsoftology
The Airsoft Discussion
Gorilla Airsoft Radio
Airsoft Medicine
SSMG.se Specialist Swedish Military Experience Group
Subscribe to our news

Enter your email address:

Delivered by FeedBurner

News Feeds
Archives