There IS a difference!

Connery

• Replies 100
  • Created
  • Last Reply
Finally someone has tryed to sort this out.

Why do some people insist on saying clip when they know it is wrong!

Please, for the love of all things holy, please stop saying clip.

Or invent some sort of airsoft clip.

ah, the old "call it by its real name, daggnammit!!!" "no, its a toy, and I'm not a professional soldier, but an armchair commando" debate.

I call it what I like, mostly because I know it doesn't actually matter, in the grand scheme of things- if I want to call my magazine a clip, or my clip a magazine, I will do so in the sure and certain knowledge that my life, and the life of those around me, will very likely NEVER depend on me getting it "right"

clip is just slang for magazine, in the same way "plonker" is slang for...um...idiot :)

everyone knows what you mean when you say either, so really, honestly, why worry about it?

the wonderful thing about language is that it is amorphous- we can cling onto meanings as much as they like, but they will, with time, slip away from us- fine, if people want to be exact in their terminology, great! but lets not get carried away- it is as much your prerogative to call the damn plastic boxy thing a magazine as its my prerogative to call it a clip if I want to.

there. Everyone happy? Everyone able to slip at night? no more anxiety attacks that the world will end if we call the stock a butt, or a mag a clip, or a bb a round, or a catch a release, or an AK47 an AK, or an m4 an armalite, or a shotgun a boomstick, or any number of of slangy variations that people adopt over time?

good...

now let the flame war commence! I'll just keep this padlock handy for when things get out of hand.

note I'm already saying "when", rather than "if"...