Help me design a fixed, reliable ARMY R85

Domz

Yep Ive heard lots of different faults and modifications for the R85 so I thought maybe make a thread of how to fix them to be reliable, and guide or hopping list, and whatever I settle on Im going to do most of as my piston has now broken.

(well, the gears and motor turn fine and ironically it whizzes just for 1 rev on semi but cant hear the piston going anywhere so I presume the piston is stripped).

(someone'll probably complain it could go somewhere else... well, it'd be buried too fast in the review. Please don't delete this at any rate, if you tell me I'll just move it somewhere else or within the review.)

No Im no expert so any of my points aren't definite and mostly what Ive picked up so anybody who knows more, feel free to tell me if Im wrong. I have read the guide for G&G L85s but that doesnt solve everything for me.

Replies such as Get a STAR or soon to be ICS: I'd rather not!

I'll probably keep the blowback and just hook it back for use.

Might need a new cylinder or just some way of pushing the plate of the charging handle more out as currently the dust cover isn't consistently coming off when cocked.

So, problems to fix:

18 tooth piston strips

Semi auto problem- apparently a small metal tab to file off and/or another reason semi might not work?

Also, trigger mechanism may be misaligned (due to the above?)

Someone said the bushings were poor?

Poor hopup on mine

Accuracy not great for such a long barrel

SO plan is:

Piston spacer kit

Systema or G&P piston -remove second tooth apparently helps stop bad engagement?

-or newer G&G piston with second tooth removed?

New bushings?

Remove tab

Check trigger mechanism aligned, maybe replace?

Check and maybe replace if possible some of the semi cut off parts?

New hopup (bucking at least, perhaps entire metal G&P hopup unit)

Possibly downgrade spring if it is now over forum limit.

Metal/bearing spring guide?