How to modify a Sansei Mask to work with ESS Goggles

uscmCorps

I've been playing this sport since 1989 in Hong Kong. Back then I was 13/14 years old and figured Shop Glasses would cut it. Given that our classic airsoft guns back then weren't too powerful, it's possible that shop glasses would have been fine for our eyes. Over the years, the guns became more powerful, I've seen a lot of shattered teeth, punctured skin, and one incident of partial blindness all from BB hits. When the Sansei Mesh Mask first came out, it was a pretty popular mask especially in Hong Kong because we mostly played in summer and non-mesh masks tend to fog up fast and easily due to the heat and humidity. The mesh masks never had that problem and they were very affordable. One thing that always did bug me about them though was how they would cut down your vision slightly due to the mesh grid in front of your eyes. It's like watching a regular TV vs. an HD TV. Mesh simply isn't as clear as lenses. I know a lot of people have complained about how the mesh goggle/masks are unsafe as shattered BB fragments can make their way through the mesh... personally, I have never ever seen that happen (and in Hong Kong we used to play well above 500 fps), but that's not what this thread is about. I loved my mesh goggles, but hated the fact that they cut down on vision. On the other hand I hated lensed masks because they always fogged on me. So I just stuck with Mesh Goggles for well over a decade. Then I came across the ESS Turbofan Goggles (available in both standard and low profile styles) that with the click of a button, allowed me to de-fog the goggles. But they didn't have lower face protection. Call me vain but as much as I valued my eyes, I also valued my teeth. If only we could combine the lower face protection of the Sansei Mask with the ESS Goggle, we'd have an excellent combo. Then my friend and teammate, Jay, came up with a simple and elegant solution and I have since followed his lead and don