Pre-cocked Gearbox Shenanigans

The Chef

Hola people.

Now, I don't know of what I am trying to acheive is indeed possible or not, hence me asking it here for all you technical wizards to encourage/put down (delete as applicable).

I am looking to make a DMR which will be predominantly run on Semi Auto. (SIG 556 for anyone that's interested).

I would like it to fire in a 'pre-cocked' state much the same as the PSG-1 or Army SA80, thus reducing that tell tale wind up noise that gives people the chance to dodge incoming rounds.

This is the major pre-requisite.

The second part is to have a 3 round burst instead of full auto.

That's the brief:

Now the questions.

Is this possible?

Am I going to need some form of MOSFET gizzardry (and if so, what am I looking for?) or is it going to be a Sector gear issue?

Sorry for such a noobish question. It's just I have zero knowledge when it comes to FET's and what they can do.

Cheers all.

Rob.

As i understand it, its a gear thing.

You will want a bevel gear with as many ARL cams as possible. the standard 2 is not enough, 4 is good but if you can find one with more then that'd be better.

You'll also want to move the cutof peg on the selector gear. Exactly how to do this i dont know, but you could easly cut it off and drill a new one in. You might be able to use the selector gear from an armyR85 as you mentioned.

After that, you will want very strong gears otherwise the teeth will shred off very quickly.

There are other ways to do it, maby better ways, but i dont understand them :P.

You need an L85 or PSG1 sector gear.

There's been a couple of threads related to this sort of thing recently but finding them might be a bit of a bugger since they were, IIRC, threads that sort of devolved into the subject from their original purpose.

Personally, I wouldn't bother.

I know I can't put you off by saying that so here's what I'd suggest:-