Clipping the obnoxious bits in the mech.

tr1gg3r_h4ppy

Hey all,

I'm rather new to tech work and have pried open a few mechboxes in my day. Last night I spent 3 or so hours trying to reassemble my mech (just to replace a busted cylinder head and check for wiring consistency). Needless to say, I still can't get electricity flowing after rewiring to deans. (my electric meter is saying that the battery and charger have power and good connections but the gun itself acts like there is no power flowing and the fuse is intact.) But I digress...

After several hours of very bitter googling and searching on the forums, I have been unable to find a way to replace the ARL without risking damage. I like efficiency and I refuse to believe that little latch is absolutely the pinnacle of anti-reversal technology. Would installing an AB mosfet negate the need for the ARL? Also are there anyways to upgrade the trigger spring so there is less chance of flying triggers?

Thanks,

Trigger.

I don't think a simple mosfet alone will allow you to bin the latch, maybe with one of those active braking units. If you can't install the ARL with sheer finesse, try using a strong magnet to keep it in place. I haven't tried it myself (never needed to) but those who have swear by it.

I swear...if you find the answer the Arnies community will send you chocolates.

The ones with the teeth marks will be the hard centres.......

I use a magnetic parts tray from a motor parts factor, invert it so the magnets are on top and use them to hold the ARL and gears in place.

Useful for those gearboxes that just don't want to play nice.

active breaking isnt enough, got to go full computerized. with computerized mosfets the ARL becomes unneeded as the gears will always be stopped in the same place at the end of the current gear cycle, like a systema PTW.