Starting a University Airsoft Club

validtumoralarm

So I'm a full time university student here in Nashville and a buddy and I are thinking of starting an official airsoft club through the school. We're looking to register as a sports club with student recreation so that we can use the university's name for credibility and be provided a budget by the activities council. I'm looking for advice and answers to a few questions from those of you who have done something like this before.

-Standardized uniforms, yes or no?

-What are the best ways to establish our credibility as an honorable group of players and represent our school well?

-How should we attract the kind of player that will positively represent our organization, school, and sport?

-What would be the best use of our budget money?

-What are some tips to help alleviate some of the university's (valid) concerns about this kind of thing?

-Would biweekly practices be a good idea? Or is that taking it a little too seriously?

-How do we get players interested in joining who may be self conscious about "playing soldier" in college?

-I was planning on having the club rent a storage unit for our guns, but does anyone have any better ideas?

-Transportation to and from events?

-If I'm allowed to, would opening the organization to players from other colleges in the area be a good idea?

I'm looking mostly for opinions from folks who have done this before, but if you think you have some valuable input go ahead and speak out. If you don't have anything constructive to say, please keep it to yourself. Thanks!

Hey there,

Like with any soc, it is really all about admin. Communication with members, damage limitation from the *rickrolls* in the society (more so with airsoft, as the uni will most likely be against you existing) and sorting perks and/or services for your members.