mouth protection pros and cons?

Isamu

I have been using a mesh mask for face/teeth protection for a couple of years now, but aiming becomes a pain in the *albatroth, so I thought about using a teeth protector like boxers or football players to protect myself from visits to the dentists.

Any of you use them instead a mesh mask? whats your opinion? pros and cons?

Thanks

• Replies 51
  • Created
  • Last Reply

yeah, i recently started using a mouth guard. i just never felt comfortable with a mask. obviously hits to the face and ears hurt, but it protects the teeth just fine. i learned to talk clear enough with it, it helps that its a relatively thin one.

you can get ones that have basically lanyard attachments or can be attached to something (like a helmet chin strap) where you can pull it out if you need to say something quick or make a radio call and it hangs within the vicinity of your head, so you can easily grab it and slap it back in your mouth.

Bersy: Yes, thought so about speaking, not very worried if I can aim comfortably but I like running a lot and I dont know if it will hinder a proper breathing, the exaling part, of course

j33v3s: I use a baseball cap, so the mesh mask is quite close to my face, making aiming with an eotech in an M4 or Mp5 certainly difficult as I cant get a proper cheek weld, I tried rising the optic a bit, but the problem persists. 

Horsem4n: thanks mate, have you got a link to a similar teeth protector so i can have an idea about what to look for? BTW, does the protector covers upper and lower teeth?

Thanks  

I've heard two stories that will ensure that I never go without a mesh mask. While rare occurrences, one guy got shot in the mouth as he had it open just at the time a BB flew at his face. The other was a guy who had a BB fly into his nostril. Seems he now can't breath well and would require surgery to have it removed as its in his nasal cavity.