Archers Unite!

FireKnife

So we have a thread for coffee, pictures of your cat and many other things so here is another one.

Do any of you other unhinged gun nuts like me also partake in launching sharp bits of metal and carbon fibre down a range?

Share your stories, tell me of your woes and if you can post pictures.

Just to start us off my best single shot of last Saturday from the 25yrd line:

2b01.jpg

'FireKnife'

It's been one of those things I've always wanted to get into but never actually done so. A friend of mine bought a cheap recurve bow and and a target and I had great fun launching arrows at that.

I've had a look at bows online, but being a complete noob to them I have no idea what a decent starter bow would be, nor what length would suit me.

The nice thing about my garden is that I've got about 30+ meters I can use and it's all hidden from the public so I can arch all I want. :)

I took up archery a few years ago, but I wanted something fun (I'm one of those obsessive compulsive types that has to have the latest and best toy) so I had a choice to either get a new go faster striped, furry dice, all singing all dancing compound bow (In which case I would have spent hours and hours honing and perfecting my technique and entering any and all competitions) or go so old school that there was no temptation to buy all the extra twiddly bits.

I chose long_b10.jpg

It has about 40lbs at 36" pull.

If you would like to know about the history of the Old English Longbow but don't fancy reading text books, I can highly recommend the Bernard Cornwell Archer's trilogy:

The Archer's Tale-Book One

Vagabond-Book Two

Heretic-Book Three

Elliot.

Putting some thought in taking up archery with bow or crossbow, do you have an good links for online shops and forums.