Cost effective starter hangun?

Captain Leisure

As a n00b it seems to me that pistols are too expensive in relation to AEGs.

Is there a decent cost-effective handgun that can be bought for reasonable money - new or used -to use for skirmishing?

I've browsed through the classifieds but don't really know what I'm looking for.

Does it have to be GBB or does electric cut  the mustard?

• Replies 57
  • Created
  • Last Reply

For a 'starter' (or, more accurately, first ;) ) pistol, the absolute best thing you could do would be to buy a stock Tokyo Marui GBB.

Pretty much anything newer than the SIG P226 and you should be golden (The P226 being where TM really really stepped up their game).

You should be able to pick up a used TM for around £100 or so, depending on what model and if there are any accessories, and provided you take care of it, it'll be the best skirmish weapon you'll ever have.

Trust me on that ;).

I've no first hand experience with some of the newer brands like WE or so, my current pistol is a TM 1911, and it's brilliant - first ever time without fail and its a bloody nail driver in regards of accuracy. I have previously had a KSC glock (pre system 7) and a KWA CZ-75 (same). Both of them were very nice, but they lacked the reliability and consistency of the TM's.

Saying that, I've heard very very good things about the newer KSC's with system 7 (whatever that is), so wait for someone else who's got first hand experience with them.

With regards to AEP's (electric pistols) they're... nice, but niche. due to size restraints they're usually lower power that the equivalent GBB, but they've usually (TM at least) have incredible HOP up units to balance this - so it might take a few more seconds for the BB to get to the target but it'll almost definitely be on target still.