Better search function on the forums?

I don't know if its just me but i think the search function on the forums is quite lacking and could be why so many questions are asked repeatedly over and over again.

For example searching for "ICS MP5 gearbox" returns all posts with "mp5" in them, as well as all posts with "ICS" or "gearbox" in them.. the result is tons of stuff that isn't relevant. Searching for "ICS+MP5+gearbox" yields the same poor result. This should definitely be addressed as im sure it would help newbies like myself find info much quicker.

I am a fairly knowledgeable php/mysql coder and would be happy to modify the code to enable this functionality, if the owners of the site would like it..

As I have said many times before, the search box works perfectly. It does EXACTLY what you tell it to.

It searchs for the terms you asked for in either AND or OR format, and then returns them.

There's nothing wrong with it and it works fine. You can't expect the search facility to rank posts and understand what you're looking for.. or cater for that fact that a term you're searching for may be mentioned in a topic/thread that you didn't expect ;)

Indeed. Clicking the "Advanced Usage Help" link immediately below the text you want to search for, gives you details on how to use the search feature.

http://www.arniesairsoft.co.uk/forums/inde...ch&CODE=explain

When I first started using this forum-engine, I found the search function a little clunky, but practicing a few times means I can now find what I want without a problem.

Yeah, its not that hard. I've noticed that the little box "Title Only: solves my problem almost 80% of the time.

The other 20% is ether Spelling/wording, not typing in the right title, etc.

Just use the functions, before you search, have a read through of all the functions on the search menu. That should solve your problem.

~P