Best complaint ever!

Smith5

Today I had a customer complaint that went straight to number one for all of the stupid things people will complain about.

I work in a restaurant, and making drinks for people takes up a lot of my day. So I made a woman a cuppaccino, something Ive done a million times and could do perfectly in my sleep. Now a cuppaccino, for those who dont know or might feel like making the same complaint, is a hot drink, of the not-cold variety. A point that most people grasp. Its made using boiling water and steamed milk.

So what was the complaint...

'Its hot!And I nearly burnt my lips on it.' she says!

I was almost lost for words when she told me this and struggled to keep a straight face. Even after she had found out it was hot, why the hell did she not consider leaving it a minute or two to leave it to cool slightly, seeing as most hot things will do this on automatically when left alone for a bit.

I just thought I needed to share this, either to enlighten all you people who were unsure of what a hot drink was and how to approach drinking such things, or just to give the rest of you a glimpse into the dumbass world of the average customer.

Anyone got any others to beat that?

• Replies 103
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I believe someone once sued McDonalds over coffee being hot.

Also, when they first started doing those apple pies people complained they were hot, so they made it policy to not let you buy them until they had stood for long enough to cool a bit.

Dunno if mine beats the hot-drink story, but in my thankfully brief employment with Tesco customer services, one woman wanted compensation because she had went shopping, parked her car, unpacked her shopping, and realised she'd bought an out-of-date chicken.

No problems so far. Refund for the chicken, fair enough.