The Better Box Magazine

Gigueand

Hi guys,

I just picked up a CA M249 with a MAG push-button winding 100 round "nut sack."

I'm finding that in order to feed the gun I need to basically hold down the wind push-button the entire time I'm firing. Is this normal? 

Having never owned a SAW, I assumed that the box magazine would function similarly to a standard hi-cap, but that doesn't appear to be the case.

Are there any M249 box magazines that don't require a push-button? Obviously, the sound activated ones are available, but they don't seem entirely reliable to me and are also large in size compared to the "nut sack." 

Basically I'm wondering if there are any other box magazine options available that can be wound up and forgotten about.

I'm not an expert in airsoft LMG's, never having owned one, but I do believe there is another box mag version, other than sound or push-button activated.
It feeds the bb's by being electrically connected to the gun trigger contacts. So, every time you squeeze the trigger, the box mag feeds.
I'm not sure, but I believe this may be a DIY mod.

STAR's M249s worked like that, pulling the trigger both operated a microswitch to the gearbox and completed the box mag circuit, so it auto-wound when you fired.

The G&P Stoner 63 is similar, if a bit more complicated, in that when the trigger is pulled, the circuit is also completed to a relay in the box mag switch starts the motor winding (based off a separate box mag battery) and keeps winding for a few seconds after the trigger is released.

The magazine *should* function like a normal hicap magazine that builds spring tension whilst winding then uses that when firing. You should get a minimum of ~200 rounds from it before it starts misfeeding, usually 300-400.