TM VSR-10 Real Shock Qs

renegadecow

So there's a complete stock Real Shock cylinder at TMC and I'm making an XP-100. I figured it would be pretty fun to have some recoil on such a big pistol. But I have little knowledge about the Real Shock version and whatever review I find of it either keep it bone stock or swap out everything but the Marui sticker. So my question is, rather questions are:

-just how much recoil is there, say compared to GBBRs?

-can it handle a stock JG BAR-10 spring which is about the equivalent of a 130 spring I think?

-does the recoil affect accuracy and by how much? I imagine it does because the displacement weight is on the piston itself so there is recoil as the shot is being made. Also, since I'm putting it in a handgun with reduced mass and no stock, the recoil might get too much to the point that it does throw shots off.

and lastly

-is the weighted piston the only difference to a standard one? If so I imagine I could just modify a cheaper piston and add weights to it because the complete cylinder is not exactly cheap.

Hey RC, I have a TM VSR Real Shock version as my current rifle of choice. So, I think I can help you out a bit.

Basically, the short answer to your above questions is very much 'no, don't get the TM VSR 'Real Shock'.

This is because the TM VSR Real Shock does literally, as you have guessed, have only one difference from the standard VSR - those cylinder weights. And those said weights just don't change a damn thing. In a blind fire test, the only way a user could identify the RS version would be the distinctive and altogether rather disturbing additional 'clack' which one gets with the additional weight on the cylinder. To be fair, the weights might not necessarily detract from the operation and reliability of the rifle but I'm afraid to say that they sure as *suitcase* do not add anything to the experience.