The Art of Shimming and The Secret of Gear Ratios?

AG1212

I need help with shimming gears and getting the right ratio.

For shimming I really don't know what do and it's my first time really working on a GB. I understand too tight and too loose are bad, but on which gears do I put the shims and on what side of the GB?

And for Ratio the setup I'm going for is 1joule high speed with fast trigger response, while using mostly semi. So that would be a highish speed motor ( its only a light spring ) and 11.1v battery if that makes any difference at all.

Thanks.

Have a quick search AG, shimming is one of those things that has been 'done to death' on here wink.gif

Too tight is indeed bad, but a bit loose is OK.

I start with the left gearbox shell, and shim the spur (middle) gear just enough so the outer edge of the larger gear doesn't touch the bushes for the sector or bevel gears.

Then the sector gear, shim it so it just clears the spur gear where they overlap, ditto the bevel gear.

Then it's just a case of shimming each one to the r/h shell.

A spot of silicone grease on the axles will hold the shims in place on the gears, they're easily dropped off while you're putting the gears in and out.

Have a look here as well, before you go and buy Airsoft branded shims...

Shims...don't get ripped off!

First, let's say this is my method, but not the only one. Okay here goes.

Shimming:

*Press your bushings into place. If they are a tight fit, a small NYLON tap hammer will nudge them in to place. If they are lose, put a few drops of superglue around the bushing hole just to make sure they don't fall out.