Increasing fps a bit without upgrading

Kye

Hello all.

I'd like to squeeze a bit more speed out of my CA M15 A2. I don't wish to updrage anything yet (i'm still learning the trade as it were). I was thinking that a film layer of grease applied to the main spring compartment (whatever it's called, I forget), would reduce the friction a bit, and let the bring function more easily.

Would a film layer of grease around the piston to form an air proof seal?

Many thanks.

What and what? lol.

I'm not fussy really, even a few would be nice, just to get that little bit extra reach.

I want to get my weapon chrono'es again. Last time it was done it came up as 265. I brought it second hand off a mate who had never fired it. I assume that it is down the working parts needing to be bedded in, and the cold affecting the battery. From what I know, CA's are meant to do 300+ out of the box.

HI , i have a CA M4 CQB , it chrono'd about 290fps , not brilliant for a £300+ gun.But apparently the CA guns suffer from air leak problems and badly tolerated O rings.

I took my gun to Firesupport in Peterborough an they fitted Marui O rings to the piston and it chrono'd 310fps.Might be worth giving the experts a ring for advice ,they really know their stuff !

There isn't much you can do to increase FPS without some sort of an upgrade. I'd say o-ring would be cheapest, considering that some are horrible stock. You can tell if an o-ring is ok by taking out the piston assembly, firmly plugging the nozzle, and trying to move the piston up and down. Pistons vary on how hard it is to pull it back, but it should be nearly impossible to compress the piston completely. If it leaks (you can hear a hissing sound when you press), it's time for a new o-ring. The o-ring is #14 in hardware stores. I forget the exact dimensions.