Gun License Woes

bankz5152

Hey guys,

Just wanted to voice my lets say 'anger' but more just being really annoyed.

I've been shooting 12 Guage Shotguns since 13 (6 years now) so allmost as soon as I turned 18 I sent off for my Shotgun License (15 months ago now) so filled in all the forms got it signed and sent off. Needless to say it got sent back, first reason pictures where not good enough (fair) so took them again and sent off again (7 weeks later when it came back).

At this point the pictures are perfect and I had it countersigned by my GP of 15 years sent off again. It came back again which annoyed me a little saying a GP could not be used unless they have personally know you (which mine has 15 years..) so had him write a letter explaining this. Sent off again, sent back :( saying that I my GP need to write a seperate letter with proof he had known more for so long. Did it sent off AGAIN!

After all that I got it back today AGAIN although they did call and explain why..

They said that a GP could not be used as a countersignatory :@ why the hell couldnt they have told me that in the first place!!! So its now being signed by an Architect who has known my family and me for well my whole life, sending off again next week and this time i really really hope it works!

Ive been saving £1500.00 for 3 years which is very hard not to spend considering i just joined uni!

Anyone else had anything similar to this?

If not how long did it take you?

Cheers guys!

• Replies 71
  • Created
  • Last Reply

for my Pistol Permit in the state of Connecticut, USA, the process of which to get the town/temporary permit is supposed to take like a month tops........took me over a year cause they never told me the paperwork (fingerprints) didn't go through, so every 3 weeks I'd go and inquire if it went through or not, always being told that I needed to be processed again. Finally one day I dropped in and they're like "Oh yeah you were approved 2 weeks ago. No one told you?"