Lewis gun on a budget

Kalashnikov_kid

Evening everyone,

I'm just getting into WW2 airsoft thanks to Josh at Gunman. My team got into nam softing (thanks again to josh) last year and now we wanna go one step further back in time. Due to financial reasons we're going to do a french resistance load out. For the most part the weapons are easy to source, problem is our support gunner needs a gun so we've gotta build him one.

Now thing is it had to be one man portable. That wrote off anything on a tripod. It ended up as a toss up between a Bren or Lewis gun, as per the title you can guess which one I went for!

Now before I start I must point out that I lack any tooling more sophisticated than a dremel, power drill and hand tools. Also I'm trying to use as much found material as possible to keep cost down.

Righty, less talk more pics...

Front end

Slightly out of spec with regards width .5in wider and the angle of the taper is quite steep, but hey!

DSC00507.jpg

Made from and old SIG water bottle, desk lamp head and some waste pipe

Receiver

Gone for an AR15 receiver as it's what I had. A g3 would look better but I didn't have one to hand and cost is an issue :( cut down VN high cap will provide ammo feed (more details later)

DSC00508.jpg

DSC00509.jpg

Pistol grip

Armalite grip sanded and spayed for the woodish look :)

DSC00510.jpg

And together

DSC00511.jpg

quick mock up with an old stock to get a feel for the whole 50" that is a lewis gun!

DSC00513.jpg

Gonna cut the barrel bands and heat sink fins tomorrow, will have more pics soon :) sorry for the upside down pics photobucket's on the fritz!

Comments welcome

Thanks

K_K

• Replies 62
  • Created
  • Last Reply
  • 2 weeks later...

Sorry for the delay, found the plastic i was gonna use had hairline cracks in it so was no good. Moved onto the mag shell...

Mag is a disk 8" x 1.25" I wanted to make it out of an existing item rather than scratch build which led me to a 8" cake tin!

Tin (rim removed)