Which Colt M1911 to get ?

Laursen

Hi all...

I'm new to airsoft and I'm thinking of getting a Colt M1911 as my first GBB. I've been reading about the different ones from different companies but I can't really decide on which to get.

The one I've been suggested the most is the Tokyo Marui and the KJ Works. I really like the KJW because it's in metal but the internals should be better in the TM. The heavier slide on the KJW would also add to a more subtle blowback but using a more powerful gas could help with that issue.

I was also suggested Western Arms or some customs from TM but they are difficult to get and expensive because I live in Denmark, so they need to be imported.

I'm mostly interested in one from KJ Works but does anyone know how the two compare to each other regarding performance, assambly, wear and tear etc. ?

Regards,

Jakob Laursen

I would wait for the TM MEU, unless you specifically want an M1911A1. The M1911A1 is good gun, but I prefer better sights and ergonomics.

I own both a WA M1911 variant and a TM M1911A1, personally I prefer the WA, but then the WA costed me a bit more, I guess the TM would be a better starter gun, lots of cheap parts, but the pot metal rails used in the frame seems to be a bit weak.

But when it comes to ergonomics I prefer my KSC G19 HW over both my 1911s.

Unless you buy some sort of aftermarket frame that comes with CNC Al rail, most airsoft GBB's slide rail are pot metal, AFAIK, so is WA....

TM 1911A1 or the new MEU will be a good starter GBB, however they will both suffer from gas consumption issue(compare to their BB load) if you use Green gas or propane, simply because they are single stack pistol and yet loads 26-28 rounds, as opposed to WA's 14 rounds. As mentioned unless you specifically wants a Colt GI style 1911A1, you will probably better off getting a TM MEU due to the better sight and modern controls.